Skip to content

Happy Memorial Day

May 30, 2011

Good morning:)  I’m sitting here at work eating my choco-peanutty oats and drinking iced coffee.

(Old fashioned oats, 1 tsp DARK cocoa powder, 1 tsp peanut flour, chia seeds, cinnamon, coconut flakes, blueberries, and a big glob of peanut butter!! YUM!!)

Just another normal morning. The gym opened at 7 this morning so i got to sleep in till 6 instead of my normal 4 am weekday wake up! YAY!

For my entire life my mom has grown a large vegetable garden in our backyard.

So of course since i won’t be home this summer, i had to grow my own! I started all my plants out as little seedlings.

Once they got big enough i dug up a patch for a garden. Seriously tough work since the ground was baked solid! After soaking it with the hose i was able to dig up the grass and loosen the soil. Since the ground is super sandy (the Intercoastal is at the end of my block…) i added plenty of organic topsoil. I also have a compost pile that i totally plan on bringing with me when i move;) I planted and organized everything and the next morning when i went out to look at my garden it had been dug up!! Dirt and little plants were everywhere:(:(:(:(  My roommates dog had been attracted by the nice cool dirt and jumped in! So after quiet a few tears, my boyfriend bought me new plants and they were put in. Well, since seeds got scattered all over the place, I have had to do quite a bit of transplanting when green bean plants were sprouting next to the tomatoes and zuccini was coming up in between the peppers!! But its all good now, aside from having to do a little bit of weeding when i get home:)

Green Beans

Ummmmmmm…..i cant remember lol i have to look at my list:)

Basil

Basil and cilantro (the basil above this was thinned out from the pot so they would all have more room)

Zuccini and yellow squash (the purple edges are a result of all the coffee grounds that i mix in with the dirt, it just changes the leaves and doesnt affect the veggies!)

And here is the picture i am most excited for:

I HAVE TOMATOES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YAY!!!!!!! I love tomatoes and i am so so so so so so excited:) I bought four plants, one died, then i planted a rotten tomato and a plant came up. And then i was admiring my neighbors garden and he gave me 3 heirloom tomato plants!!!!  He doesn’t know what kind or color they are but i really don’t care as long as they are tomatoes:):)

My plant from the rotten tomato:):) Actually its four plants but since all the roots are intertwined I didnt want to sepperate them and kill all the roots.

Well thats my garden! Do you have one? What fruit/veggie are you most excited for this summer?

Oh and happy memorial day!! Dont forget to thank a vet! My whole family has a huge bbq every memorial day and this is only the second time I’ve missed it:(:( So after thanking a vet, go hug your family!

The annual volleyball game!


4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2011 6:22 am

    I always wish to be able to do a garden but I am AWFUL at keeping up with things like that. Plus, our yard is so “special” that we have no good area for it. It’s okay though. I just raid my sister-in-law’s because she lives in our neighborhood and always has too many fresh zucchini, tomatoes, etc.

    • May 31, 2011 7:06 am

      It’s good your sister is close so you can go raid her garden!!! I am going to have a ridiculous amount of zucchini and yellow squash!! I should feature a new recipe using them every week…or i could just make a ton of zucchini bread and freeze it so i can be reminded of summer in the middle of december:)

  2. June 1, 2011 9:24 am

    Good for you for keeping up that garden! My dad gardens; I love seeing all the produce we get in the summer 🙂 And yike, 4 am wakeup!!?? Why’s that?

    • June 1, 2011 10:06 am

      I get so excited when i start seeing all the little veggies:) And i work at a gym, and i open mon-fri. I have to be there at 4:45 so i drag myself out of bed by 4:15 and scramble around to get ready. its helps to have everything packed the night before so i don’t have to think to much in the morning!

Leave a Reply

