Skip to content

Room Remodel

March 7, 2011

I love rearranging furniture. Well its more that i have a compulsive need to switch up my surroundings quite frequently lol. The one thing i have wanted in my room for awhile is a really big desk so i can do all my art homework. I did have the kitchen table in there (we had another one) but it was too wide for the space and made my tiny room even more cramped.

When we drove down from Jersey in January, we stopped at Ikea (to stretch our legs for a few minutes but then it turned into a few hours of shopping hehe) and picked up some desk legs for only $5 each! I was planning on getting either glass cut for it or maybe some wood but hadnt had time (or cash) to really get anything done.  I was cleaning my room yesterday and when i was taking out the trash i glanced down the street and noticed that my neighbors were throwing out a door. Of course i went to go check it out and i was super excited when i saw it was in great condition. I brought it home, cleaned it, and put it on the desk legs. Perfect fit! Did i mention that its the perfect shade of gray that i want to paint my room:):)

Im still debating if the effort and time of putting up shelves (and then taking them down and re-caulking and touch up painting in a few months) is worth it. i would love.love.love to paint since i HATE the puke green walls but i would have to paint them back to the same color and i dont feel like having to match that color lol plus im going to have my hands full making my shipping pallet bed. I want it to be normal bed height since im not a fan of low platform beds. Heres some inspiration:

source

source

And im loving this one but its too low, but i would give anything for a chic apartment in paris!!

source

Anyways im off to work on some projects before class and them gym time tonight!! I have to get pumped now because otherwise i would not want to go to the gym after i get off of class and work.

 

Do  you have any fun DIY projects or would you rather just buy everything ready to go?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2011 11:04 am

    I am a re-arranger too! My husband is a creature of habit and HATES change. So does Munchkin. We just had to move things around in our living room with all the baby changeds. Both of them were in a tizzy but got used to it.

    oh, and a chic apt in Paris!! Who wouldn’t love that??

    • March 18, 2011 8:34 am

      Lol im glad they adjusted:) My boyfriend laughs at me since i’m changing stuff around constantly!

      I would totally love to live in Paris! I always planned to spend a semester in Paris but it hasn’t happened yet and since i only have one semester left, i don’t think its happening:(

  2. March 15, 2011 4:03 pm

    Love the desk! What a great work space. My “desk” is either the kitchen counter or the floor with the kids. LOL

    • March 18, 2011 8:35 am

      I use to have to have everything on the floor if i was working on something big and it was so uncomfortable!! Of course by now i have a huge pile of stuff on my desk so i cant use it until i clear it all off lol

Leave a Reply

