Skip to content

Damaged Goods

December 3, 2010

I am one thrifty chick. I have always shopped at thrift stores and second hand places and i love a good deal! I had heard of Scratch and Dent stores before, but had never been in one until my boyfriend brought me to the one near his house. IT. WAS. AWESOME. They had half gallons of soy and rice milk for a dollar, 5 pound bags of king arthur whole wheat flour for a dollar, and a few other awesome deals! Well i ventured to the one that is near my house and it was beyond amazing! Tons and tons and tons of great organic products:):):)

It looks like christmas came early:):) I didnt get the fruit and veggies there though.

I got 2 bags of spelt flour and a bag of soy flour for $1 each and the buckwheat pancake mix was $1.50!!!!!!!!!!!!! Crazy ridiculousness:):):) And i got some soy sauce and siracha and Ezekiel granola…

…organic chocolate covered expresso beans(that  i put in the pancakes i made), sunspire chips, peppermints (used for the peppermint blondies)…

…and soymilk, hemp milk, and dried black and kidney beans (i always get dried beans never canned and i stock up whenever possible) for ridiculously cheap!!!! I am definitely a convert to shopping there, though you do have to be careful of the expiration dates on merchandise since a lot of it is there because its expired. For some things (very shelf stable items) id take a risk but not for easily perishable items!!

So do you like our christmas tree haha its quite bright especially against the blue walls but its fun and festive so i love it! Ill have to show all the decorations that we put up this year, totally tacky and over the top but also super fun:):)

Have you ever shopped at a scratch and dent place?? Would you shop there if there was one near you??

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 12:21 pm

    Wow! What deals. I do consignment shopping for my daughter’s stuff and always get things on sale/bargain for myself, but never been able to find grocery deals like this though. I’m impressed!

  2. December 14, 2010 8:19 pm

    I never even heard of a scratch and dent store! My hubbys a weirdo with food…anythign discounted he won’t buy. They opened a Bottom Dollar market near us, and he was like you better never shop there!! No, I just spend ALL of my money at Whole Foods, we will live in a 950 sq foot condo forever…but the food will always be top dollar! Yikes. Very cool you got all the organic stuff so cheap!

  3. December 16, 2010 9:26 pm

    No, not sure where I’d find one. If there were one, I’d definitely would visit!

Leave a Reply

