Skip to content

I love the weekend!

November 3, 2010

Since i don’t have a regular job (aside from baby sitting and my on campus job) i have the weekends free which means a trip over to the boyfriends!!! YAY:)

Because of the halloween festivities (according to one of my classmates, St. Augustine turns into “halloweentown”) my campus job was canceled on friday so my weekend started thursday night! Three hours hours of driving flew by as i blasted the Wicked soundtrack and then the Phantom of the Opera soundtrack lol and of course i sang along as loudly as i could:)

Such a good show! I saw it in philly back in 2007

Friday morning we left early and stopped to take pictures (which i still have to edit) at some places i had driven by and then got back to St. Augustine.  I normally have a cabbage stirfry every night for dinner cause its quick easy and can have so many different varieties, but a girl can only eat so much cabbage!!!

Pretty purple cabbage:)

So for dinner we went to a great vegan-friendly restuarant here called The Back 40 Urban Cafe. The food was amazing!!!!!!

Its in a cute old house and each of the rooms are decorated differently with lots of cool wacky art.

For an appetizer we split the Vegan 3 bean chili with chips and salsa!

It was beyond good and i defintiely will try recreating it!

For my meal i ordered the roasted red pepper tacos which actually came in a soft tortilla with avacado,lettuce and a vegan sauce and brown rice and black beans on the side! DELISH!!

Emmanuel ordered the Thai Bowl and said it was great!

I will definitely be visiting The Back 40 again and again and again!!!

Saturday we headed to Jacksonville aka civilization lol and stopped by the mac store cause my phone was acting up:/ I then drooled over the lululemon store as emmanuel was commenting on how over priced everything was hahaha and i also scored new nail polish at ulta, it was buy one get one 1/2 off for Essie and i had a coupon so how could i refuse;) And i finally found another pair of avaiators that fit my huge face:)

Dinner=CHIPOTLE!!

Chipotle is seriously one of my favorite places to eat! I always get the veggie salad and can only get through half (but then will devour the rest in an hour or two)

I think he got the carnitas burrito and then wanted another one lol but instead we went on an unsuccessful search for vegan fro yo before heading to WHOLE FOODS:):):):)

I stocked up on oats and got some treats

KOMBUCHA and pumpkin spice clif bars:):) And i got chocolate peppermint soymilk. I normally dont have soy products when i have soy protein but for those two products i make an exception.

We also split a vegan carrot cake cupcake with vegan buttercream frosting! (and sampled all of the samples…maybe more then once hehe) That night we saw SAW 3D which was not scary or  gory (maybe cause i had my 3d glasses off half the time lol) but the plot really wasnt scary at all.

Sunday we went back to his house and hung out for a little, ate some plantains and yucca things (lol not too sure what they were but they were really good!) and then i came back home and did homework.

I cant wait till January when he is only 1 hour away instead of 3!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. the boyfriend :) permalink
    November 3, 2010 10:49 pm

    what an awesome recap of the trip 🙂

  2. November 4, 2010 6:17 pm

    I saw Wicked a few months ago and I am a bit obsessed now…been watching clips over and over on YouTube. I can’t believe they don’t have a dvd out! 😦

    • November 4, 2010 10:32 pm

      Isn’t it such a great show?!! A dvd would be so awesome!!! I cant believe that they haven’t made one yet:(

  3. November 5, 2010 2:49 am

    What a cute little trip 🙂 The vegan friendly restaurant looks so cute!

    You two make the cutest little couple….love it!

    xxoo

    • November 5, 2010 8:40 am

      Awww thanks:):)

      That restaurant was great! If you are ever in St. Augustine its definitely worth checking out!

Leave a Reply

