Skip to content

Apple Fritters

October 26, 2010

I have wanted donuts ever since i got the food buzz email that featured this delicious looking donut!

source

 

And then i saw this one and my mind was made up, I was going to make donuts!!!

source

Ever since i was a kid i have liked cake donuts better then dunkin donut fluff and apple fritters were always my fav since it was cake + apples+ sugar icing:):) I origionally want regular donuts with a hole in the center but my only problem was the lack of a donut pan. So i put them in a muffin tin and formed an opening in the center. But they closed up as they baked and became mini APPLE FRITTERS:):)

Whatever there shape, they were beyond delicious, and i may or may not have eaten 5 that night. Hey my roomie ate 4 and they are mini so i don’t feel too bad:)

I took this recipe (the first picture) and veganized it and made my own little changes.

Pumpkin Spice Apple fritters

1-1/4 cups whole wheat flour

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

½ teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg (i didn’t have it but use it if you do)

½ teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

1/2 banana

1/2 cup canned pumpkin puree

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup apple sauce

1 cup peeled, cored and chopped apple

Glaze

1 cup powdered sugar

2 teaspoons cinnamon

apple cider (*vinegar) or water

Combine all of your liquid ingredients and chopped apple in one bowl and mix your dry ingredients in another and then briefly combine. The less mixing the better!! Bake in a 350 degree oven for 10-15 minutes and let cool on a rack. For the icing, combine the powdered sugar and cinamon and then add liquid until it is glaze/icing consistency. I was impatient and added the glaze while the donuts were still warm and it melted a little too much so be patient and let the donuts cool first:)

*When i first read the recipe, i thought it said apple cider vinegar instead of apple cider so thats what i used and i loved the taste!!! It gives it a bit of bite and keeps it from being ridiculously sweet.

That was the last one which I ate this morning and i already want more!!!!

Are you a donut lover?

If you are, do you like airy donuts or cake ones?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 12:16 pm

    OMG!!! These looks GREAT! And not so terrible for you…like a million times better than dunkin’ doughnuts!

    I will bookmark this fo’ sho’ 😉

  2. November 3, 2010 12:32 pm

    YUM! the fritters look delicious!

  3. Carolyn permalink
    November 3, 2010 3:27 pm

    Those doughnuts look yummy. I always look for doughnut recipes that don’t have to be fried, so I’m going to have to try these.

  4. November 4, 2010 9:20 am

    Oooooo….thanks for sharing this recipe! Though I can’t eat gluten, I’m willing to bet that substituting some GF baking mix would work…I love that they are vegan! If I give it a go, I’ll definitely share how they came out. I’m not much of a baker though….but maybe for the holidays!

    • November 4, 2010 5:51 pm

      I’m sure that you could sub in a gluten free flour and it wold be fine. These were so easy to make so you should definitely give them a try!

  5. Ashley permalink
    November 11, 2010 8:09 pm

    These look incredible!

  6. November 11, 2010 8:15 pm

    Make it! Do it! Go now:):)

Leave a Reply

