Skip to content

How to fix a bike chain when it falls off

September 10, 2010

Now why would I ever decide to make that the title? Probably because the chain has fallen off my bike more times then i would care for it to happen! I have a cute cruiser style bike that i got for $80 at Walmart. Its cute, has a basket for all my school stuff, and gets me from point A to point B. Unfortunately the chain has a way of falling off if i go over too many bumps, which has resulted in me being late to class quite a few times. Fortunately most professors take one look at my greasy hands and aggravated face and dont mark me late. Flagler has a super strict attendance policy; you can only have 5 absences before you fail the class. You get marked absent by most professors if you are  more then 5 minutes late to a class, so its pretty good incentive to get your booty there on time!

Ok heres what ya do when the chain falls off:

  1. DONT CRASH! once you realize that you are no longer in control of your bike, find a spot where you can coast to a stop (thankfully mine popped off right as a was going by the parking lot of an empty cvs)
  2. Get off your bike, empty everything out of your basket (grr….) and flip it over
  3. Thread the chain on the pointy things (called sprockets) on the SMALLEST wheel, turning your pedal so it goes on all the way.
  4. Start threading the chain on the larger wheel as you keep turing the pedals.
  5. Hopefully this should work but it always takes me a few tries cause my bike is temperamental and likes to make me work in the 90 degree florida sun!

Thankfully it happened on the way to the gym where i had an A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. leg workout!!! I leg pressed 400 pounds eight times:):) Yay!! And then i came home, made my shake (finally found kale woohoo!!!!!) And went back to school for my on campus job.

I have the bestest job ever (well aside from the lucky people that just sit at the school gym and do homework and don’t check ids) I get to be the model for the open drawing class! All i do is sit/stand/lay around and read my “Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art” book while people draw or paint me, fully clothed of course!  Its only minimum wage  (but they dont take taxes out) and only a few hours a week put i  get to study at the same time and i ride my bike so no gas expenses and it doesnt clash with my other job times:)

Alrighty, enough blabbing, on to the food:

BANANA PANCAKES!!!!!! This is my favorite recipe, its from one of my favorite cookbooks, “Quick and Easy Vegan Comfort Food” by Alicia Simpson. This time i added an extra banana but normally i put in blueberries or apple chunks or chocolate chips etc

  • 1.5 cup flour (i used whole wheat)
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 2.5 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp sugar (i used  1tbsp agave)
  • 1.5 cups soy milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 medium banana, mashed
  • oil for pan

Combine all of the dry ingredients and wet ingredients in sperate bowls and then mix together until just combined. Oil your pan (if needed) and cook over medium heat until bubbles form around the outside of the pancake, flip and cook for another few minutes.

These are seriously good! They are my favorite night time snack and they wont feel heavy in your stomach! (i hate feeling weighed down by food!) This time i topped them with peanut butter (layered in between), all natural apple sauce, strawberries, and a little bit of real maple syrup:)

Well im off to do homework (yep thats what i do on a friday night) reading the afore mentioned textbook and working on my 3 self portraits and the 20 compositions for design class plus the 2 others for a different project, oh and the photos for my photography class too:):) Fun fun weekend ahead! Hopefully  i shall find the time to blog more often but i have a feeling that this semester shall kick. my. butt!!! Yea we had class on labor day, my school is that crazy!

Go out and have fun for me:) And make some pancakes for a snack when you get in at 3:00 in the morning:):) And remember, if your bike chain comes off, put it on the SMALL wheel first!!


One Comment leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 1:51 am

    LOL, I remember as a kid my bike chain would always fall off..I used to be a pro at fixing it, I used to do all the neighbors bikes too!

    I LOVE banana pancakes!! I make buckwheat banana pancakes…they are amazing!!

Leave a Reply

