Skip to content

Shakes, cookies, and brownies

September 3, 2010

School started this week and of course Flagler professors like to start off with a ton of work right from the beginning to make up for the shorter then average semesters (sept. 1- Dec. 10ish and jan. 10-april 23ish lol not 100% sure of those) I have 3 studio classes (design, figure painting, and photography) and art history 3 for a total of 15 credits and i got it worked out that i dont have class on fridays:):) Yay for long weekends that will be spent back in the studio doing homework lol Anyway enough about my boring school details, on to the good stuff!

Like this delicious shake:

When i got back to florida at the beginning of august, i called the school and asked for the gym hours only to be told that the gym was closed for the summer until the students came back! Um no it was really not closed but i didn’t discover that until last saturday when i called to check the hours for the school year:(:( Major sadness! But it really wasn’t so bad since we have a pretty good home gym set up in the garage so i actually increased my dumbbell bench weight and got a lot of good runs in. I was so happy to be back in the gym though, since leg day is my absolute favorite and we didn’t have high enough weights at the house. At home I did fun stuff instead, like squats on a long board lol and lots of step ups and one-leg deadlifts, but at the gym i piled on the weights! (All of my current workouts should be posted by tomorrow. Click here or go to the tab at the top of the page)

Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Post Workout Shake

  • 1 cup water
  • 2 cups/handfuls spinach or other green
  • 1 tbs peanut butter
  • 1 banana
  • 1 scoop protein (i rotate using soy, rice, and hemp)
  • 1 tsp cocoa powder
  • lots of ice:)

1. throw everything* in a blender and blend till smooth

*my blender is pretty crappy so i first blend everything minus the ice so the spinach gets all blended and then i add the ice. With a high power blender or a vitamix it should only take a few seconds to get it perfect:)

Icy green goodness:)

Sometimes a girl just wants some chocolate! I found this brownie recipie saved to my computer and I dont know where it came, from but they turned out amazing! Dense and fudgey and not at all cakey or dry like many vegan brownies can be.

Super Fudgey Chocolate Brownies

  • 2 cups flour (i used whole wheat)
  • 1/2 cup agave
  • 3/4 cup unsweeted cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/3 cup smart balance
  • 1/3 cup apple sauce
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • handful of chocolate chips (optional but encouraged!)

1. Preheat oven to 350

2. Stir together dry ingredients in one bowl and wet in another and then combine.

3. Pour into an 8 X 8 greased pan, sprinkle chocolate chips on top and bake for 25-30 minutes. About 5 minutes before it is done, use a knife to spread the melted chocolate chips on the top

Despite the fact that i still had quite a few brownies left, i was craving chocolate chip cookies. Normally i only make oatmeal chocolate chips but all the stress of the navy stuff and school starting had me craving good ole unhealthified chocolate chip cookies. When I saw laury’s recipie for non-vegan cookies i set out to make it vegan or rather Allison edible.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 cup earth balance (i used 1/3 smart balance, 1/3 peanut butter, 1/3 apple suace)
  • 1/3 cup agave
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda disolved in 1 tbsp hot water
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1.25 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350. Blend all wet ingredients and then mix in the dry ones. Bake for 8-10 minutes (8 for the soft and chewy and 10 for crispier)

My cookie bear will be quite happy for awhile:):)


4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2010 6:09 am

    Wow, somebody’s been baking up a storm! I LOVE your cookie bear! But even if I had one, I don’t think its belly would be full for much longer…;-)

  2. christy permalink
    September 4, 2010 12:10 pm

    Hi Allison
    I found your blog from April’s. I live in Ormond and a Christian as well. I look forward to reading more of your recipes and workouts. I am not vegan but have alot of stomach issues so I avoid alot of dairy and eggs.

  3. September 6, 2010 11:28 pm

    Yey!! I am happy you made my cookies vegan, with some other delishy twists–you go girl!! They look FAB!!! I will have to try this spin on them, looks GREAT!!!

    • September 7, 2010 2:52 am

      They were delicious!!!! I would definitely make them again and again and again and again:):):) Do you have any other cookie recipes:)

Leave a Reply

